Drivers in Texas have long been required to slow down or move over for police, fire and emergency vehicles. As of September 1, 2013 the Texas Legislature has now added Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) work crews to this list.
If TxDOT crews are stopped with overhead flashing blue or amber lights, drivers will be required to move over or slow down. The new addition to the law requires drivers to move out of the lane closest to the TxDOT vehicle when possible or slow down to 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit. If there are not multiple lanes on the road, drivers must slow down. If the speed limit is 25 miles per hour or less, drivers must reduce their speed to 5 miles per hour. Drivers who violate the new law face fines up to $2,000.00.
TxDOT has 11,000 employees who maintain 80,000 miles of roads across the state. The goal for this law is making Texas roads safer for work crews and reducing preventable accidents involving TxDOT workers.